Published on August 1, 2017 5:09 pm

Murray’s Daniel Johnston leads the TAC Cup goalkicking count

STATS CENTRAL: The super scorers

The Murray Bushrangers and Geelong Falcons are proving to be the TAC Cup’s most reliable goalkicking machines of recent times.

Both teams were ranked in the top three for total points scored after the 2016 home-and-away season (Geelong first and Murray third) and they again appear in the top three after 14 rounds of the 2017 season (Murray second and Geelong third).

The Bushrangers are just 15 points behind top-scoring team and ladder leaders the Oakleigh Chargers after producing the highest score of the year in Round 14 – 23.18 (156) in an 82-point defeat of the Bendigo Pioneers at Queen Elizabeth Oval. It was the highest score since the Falcons put up 23.19 (157) against the Calder Cannons in Round 16 last season.

On the weekend, Murray was powered by eight goals, three behinds and two score assists from 196cm Barooga key forward Daniel Johnston, who heads the TAC Cup goalkicking table with 40 majors from 12 games. Johnston has also produced bags of six goals twice in 2017 to demonstrate how dangerous he is inside 50.

176cm Wangaratta product Joe Richards kicked four goals and had six score assists against the Pioneers, while 195cm Shepparton junior Jordon Butts recorded three and five respectively.

The Bushrangers have had other avenues to goal this year too, with Jessy Wilson behind Johnston on 17 majors for the season, bottom-agers Hudson Garoni on 14 and Zane Barzen on 13, and David Smith next on 11.

But Geelong’s spread of top goalkickers is perhaps even more formidable. The Falcons boast four players to have booted 19 or more goals in 2017, with Gryan Miers on 29, Adam Garner on 24, Lachlan Noble on 23 and David Handley on 19.

Noble slotted four majors in his team’s 56-point defeat of the GWV Rebels at Mars Stadium in Round 14, while Garner kicked three. Co-captain James Worpel, Mitch Chafer and Tom McCartin also booted two each to further illustrate Geelong’s attacking depth.

Any team trying to knock off head coach Leon Higgins’ Murray outfit or Daniel O’Keefe’s Geelong come September will need to be prepared with a host of defensive options.


Round 14 keys to victory:

15: Not much separated the teams statistically in Eastern’s nine-point victory over Northern, except for the Ranges’ ability to get the ball inside their 50m arc 15 more times than the Knights. Eight Eastern players recorded four or more inside-50s, led by 171cm Blackburn product Mackenzie Doreian with six.

15: Tackling was the order of the day for Gippsland in windy conditions during its two-point win against Dandenong. The Power out-tackled the Stingrays 100 to 85 and were led by a couple of their shortest members – 163cm Bairnsdale product Callan McKeon (11 tackles) and 181cm Nar Nar Goon junior Bailey Beck (nine).

11: Speaking of tackling, Sandringham big man Josh Gibbins deserves some credit for his efforts in the Dragons’ 30-point defeat of the Western Jets. The 195cm Beaumaris product laid 11 tackles – an equal-round-high alongside four other players who are all at least nine centimetres shorter than him.


Round 14 stats leaders:

Bailey Smith Sandringham Dragons 29
Mitchell Andrews Northern Knights 23
Hunter Clark Dandenong Stingrays 21
Will Walker Sandringham Dragons 21
Zak Butters Western Jets 21
Jordan Lynch Eastern Ranges 20
Darby Henderson Bendigo Pioneers 19
Angus Schumacher Bendigo Pioneers 19
Cooper Stephens Geelong Falcons 19
Callan Wellings GWV Rebels 19
Brayden Gillard Northern Knights 19
Matt Harvey Bendigo Pioneers 17
Mackenzie Doreian Eastern Ranges 17
Nick Hogan Gippsland Power 17
Jack Bytel Calder Cannons 16
Jack Bytel Calder Cannons 18
Sam Harte Oakleigh Chargers 18
Brayden Gillard Northern Knights 17
Cassidy Parish Geelong Falcons 17
Jordan Troani Oakleigh Chargers 17
Matthew King Oakleigh Chargers 16
Bailey Smith Sandringham Dragons 15
Samuel Walsh Geelong Falcons 15
Luke Stacker Oakleigh Chargers 15
Quintin Montanaro Sandringham Dragons 15
Mitch Cotter Dandenong Stingrays 15
Darby Henderson Bendigo Pioneers 14
Nicholas Richards Murray Bushrangers 14
Nicholas Stuhldreier Western Jets 14
Isaac Wallace Murray Bushrangers 14
Luke Stacker Oakleigh Chargers 12
Callan Wellings GWV Rebels 12
Adam Garner Geelong Falcons 12
Jordan Lynch Eastern Ranges 9
Jordon Butts Murray Bushrangers 9
David Handley Geelong Falcons 8
Mitchell Andrews Northern Knights 8
Dylan Feltham Eastern Ranges 8
Callum Searle Oakleigh Chargers 8
Quintin Montanaro Sandringham Dragons 7
Will Donaghey Murray Bushrangers 7
Bailey Smith Sandringham Dragons 6
Patrick Howe Northern Knights 6
Geordie Nagle Sandringham Dragons 6
Lloyd Meek GWV Rebels 6
Tom De Koning Dandenong Stingrays 42
Jobee Warde Bendigo Pioneers 40
Lloyd Meek GWV Rebels 31
Sam Hayes Eastern Ranges 30
Bailey Williams Dandenong Stingrays 29
Jacob McNicol Calder Cannons 20
Matthew Volkanovski Western Jets 20
Ned Reeves Oakleigh Chargers 18
Haydyn McLean Sandringham Dragons 17
Joel Grace Northern Knights 16
Cody Henness Gippsland Power 14
Mark Marriot Murray Bushrangers 13
Rylan Henkel Gippsland Power 13
Edward Dayman Murray Bushrangers 13
Noah Balta Calder Cannons 11
Josh Gibbins Sandringham Dragons 11
Marcus Lentini Northern Knights 11
Ben Huggard Calder Cannons 11
Atu Bosenvualagi Oakleigh Chargers 11
Callan McKeon Gippsland Power 11
Sam Harte Oakleigh Chargers 10
Louis Cunningham Oakleigh Chargers 9
Bailey Beck Gippsland Power 9
Tristan Xerri Western Jets 8
Lachlan Bugeja Oakleigh Chargers 8
Xavier Duursma Gippsland Power 8
Thomas North Eastern Ranges 8
Tom Freeman Dandenong Stingrays 8
Joseph Ciranna Northern Knights 8
Liam Carroll Gippsland Power 8
Daniel Johnston Murray Bushrangers 8 40
Toby Wooller Oakleigh Chargers 4 32
Riley D’Arcy Dandenong Stingrays 3 30
Gryan Miers Geelong Falcons _ 29
Aaron Trusler Sandringham Dragons 4 25
Adam Garner Geelong Falcons 3 24
Lachlan Noble Geelong Falcons 4 23
Daniel Stanford Oakleigh Chargers VFL 22
Jordan Johnston GWV Rebels 1 19
David Handley Geelong Falcons 1 19

Naming Rights

official licencee / supplier