Published on July 18, 2017 10:39 pm

24 named in AFL W All Australian squad

Twenty-four Victorian players from the NAB AFL Women’s Under-18 Championships are in line for All Australian honours.

15 players from the Vic Country squad that was undefeated in four matches at the Championships and nine from Vic Metro have been selected in a squad of 54, which will be split in two to play a curtain-raiser to the NAB AFL Women’s State of Origin match during the AFL ‘Celebration of Football’ between the end of round 23 and the first week of the AFL finals.

Of the 12 TAC Cup Girls clubs, the Dandenong Stingrays produced the most All Australian squad members with four, ahead of the Calder Cannons, Eastern Ranges and Geelong Falcons with three each, the Bendigo Pioneers, Gippsland Power, GWV Rebels, Murray Bushrangers and Sandringham Dragons with two and the Northern Knights with one.

The All Australian squad also included 10 representatives from Queensland, eight from Western Australia, five from NSW/ACT and seven from the Allies (a combined squad representing South Australian, Tasmania and Northern Territory).



Defenders: Rebecca Webster (VC – Murray Bushrangers), Courtney Jones (VC – Dandenong Stingrays), Iilish Ross (VC – Murray Bushrangers), Bridie Kennedy (VC – Dandenong Stingrays), Lucy McEvoy (VC – Geelong Falcons), Georgia Clarke (VC – GWV Rebels), Olivia Vesley (VM – Sandringham Dragons), Georgia Ricardo (VM – Sandringham Dragons), Georgia McPherson (VM – Eastern Ranges), Molly Warburton (VM – Calder Cannons)

Midfielders: Darcy Guttridge (VC – Gippsland Power), Tyla Hanks (VC – Gippsland Power), Jordyn Allen (VC – Dandenong Stingrays), Aisling Tupper (VC – Bendigo Pioneers), Olivia Purcell (VC – Geelong Falcons), Georgia Gee (VC – Dandenong Stingrays), Madison Prespakis (VM – Calder Cannons), Maddy Guerin (VM – Northern Knights), Olivia Flanagan (VM – Eastern Ranges), Georgia Patrikios (VM – Calder Cannons)

Rucks: Rene Caris (VC – GWV Rebels)

Forwards: Denby Taylor (VC – Geelong Falcons), Eden Zanker (VC – Bendigo Pioneers), Emerson Woods (VM – Eastern Ranges)


The final All Australian team will be named after the ‘Celebration of Football’ curtain-raiser. The selectors are Aasta O’Connor (AFL female football talent operations manager and chair), Kiara Bowers and Renee Forth (AFLW players), Kate Sheahan (former AFLW player and Richmond female football operations manager), Luke Power (National Academy head coach), Julia Price (Tasmanian Roar high-performance coach), Ahmed Saad (AFL Women’s academy coach) and Jan Cooper (AFL manager female development).

Naming Rights

official licencee / supplier