Published on September 10, 2018 2:32 pm

REVIEW and STATS: TAC Cup Elimination Finals

The Dandenong Stingrays will meet the Sandringham Dragons and the Gippsland Power will face off with the Oakleigh Chargers in preliminary finals next week after all four teams won their TAC Cup Elimination Finals on the weekend.


* Watch replays of the Saturday and Sunday Elimination Finals.



The Stingrays (16-1) maintained their perfect record since Round 5 with a dominant showing that saw the minor premiers advance to a preliminary final against the Sandringham Dragons. The Rebels (6-11-1) were never in the match, as Dandenong booted four unanswered goals in the first quarter and opened up a 63-point lead by half time.

Stingrays midfielder Sam Fletcher was the game’s leading ball-winner with 31 disposals to go with seven tackles and a major, while Ned Cahill proved dynamic inside 50 for the victors with four goals and six score assists from 15 disposals and Campbell Hustwaite continued his consistent season with 25 disposals and five clearances.



A fast start allowed Gippsland (13-2-2) to keep the Falcons (6-12) at arm’s length throughout the contest and set up a preliminary final against the Oakleigh Chargers. The Power kicked the first four goals of the match and then kicked away again when a gallant Geelong outfit moved to within eight points of the lead late in the third quarter.

Some of Gippsland’s top ball-winners also did damage on the scoreboard, with skipper Xavier Duursma (25 disposals, an equal-round-high 11 marks and one goal), Noah Gown (21, eight and one) and Bailey Beck (20, nine tackles and one goal) all among their team’s best players in the win.



The Chargers (11-5-1) steamed to a preliminary final date with the Gippsland Power thanks to a four-quarter goal blitz against Western (10-8). Oakleigh piled on seven majors to four in the opening term and then booted seven, six and five goals across the next three quarters – all while restricting the Jets to just two majors in that time.

Dylan Williams was the chief destroyer inside 50 for the Chargers with six goals and four score assists from 15 disposals, while Atu Bosenvulagi kicked four majors from 17 touches and Noah Answerth won 22 and six clearances in an ominous team effort that saw 18 Oakleigh players record at least 15 disposals.



Sandringham (11-6) clicked into gear after quarter time against the Bushrangers (10-8) to move onto a daunting preliminary-final encounter with minor premiers the Dandenong Stingrays. The Dragons trailed by six points at quarter time but took the lead during a four-goal-unanswered second term and never relinquished it.

Ben King booted five of Sandringham’s first eight majors (also recording 19 disposals and an equal-round-high 11 marks) to be the game’s most influential player, with Jack Mahony (25 disposals and five score assists), Jack Denborough (17 and seven inside-50s) and Morrish Medal winner Liam Stocker (19 and five clearances) also starring in the triumph.


See full results, goalkickers and best players from the TAC Cup Elimination Finals.


Elimination Finals stats leaders:

Xavier Duursma Gippsland Power 21
Riley Baldi Gippsland Power 20
Tom Boyd Murray Bushrangers 20
Oscar Brownless Geelong Falcons 19
Matty Lloyd GWV Rebels 16
Connor Thar Western Jets 16
Campbell Hustwaite Dandenong Stingrays 15
Samuel Walsh Geelong Falcons 15
Noah Gown Gippsland Power 15
Lachlan Ash Murray Bushrangers 15
Jordon Butts Murray Bushrangers 15
Nicholas Irvine Murray Bushrangers 15
Charlie Whitehead Oakleigh Chargers 15
Jack Mahony Sandringham Dragons 15
Finlay Bayne Dandenong Stingrays 14
Jack Ross Oakleigh Chargers 19
Sam Fletcher Dandenong Stingrays 18
Cooper Stephens Geelong Falcons 16
Will Golds Oakleigh Chargers 15
Riley Collier-Dawkins Oakleigh Chargers 15
Noah Answerth Oakleigh Chargers 14
Samuel Walsh Geelong Falcons 13
James Rowbottom Oakleigh Chargers 13
Lochie Dawson GWV Rebels 12
Ely Smith Murray Bushrangers 12
Harry Reynolds Sandringham Dragons 12
Atu Bosenavualagi Oakleigh Chargers 12
Finlay Bayne Dandenong Stingrays 11
Kai Owens Sandringham Dragons 11
Joseph Ayton-Delaney Oakleigh Chargers 11
Ben King Sandringham Dragons 11
Xavier Duursma Gippsland Power 11
Tom Boyd Murray Bushrangers 11
Nicholas Irvine Murray Bushrangers 10
Bailey Patterson Gippsland Power 10
Jordon Butts Murray Bushrangers 9
Oscar Brownless Geelong Falcons 8
Lachlan Ash Murray Bushrangers 8
Corey Watts Sandringham Dragons 8
Noah Gown Gippsland Power 8
Matthew Cottrell Dandenong Stingrays 8
Dylan Williams Oakleigh Chargers 8
Sam Fletcher Dandenong Stingrays 7
Matthew Rowell Oakleigh Chargers 7
Matthew McGannon Gippsland Power 7
James Rowbottom Oakleigh Chargers 10
Oscar Brownless Geelong Falcons 9
Bailey Beck Gippsland Power 9
Edward McHenry Geelong Falcons 9
Toby Bedford Dandenong Stingrays 8
Austin Hodge Gippsland Power 8
Doyle Madigan Geelong Falcons 8
Sam Fletcher Dandenong Stingrays 7
Ryan Sparkes Gippsland Power 7
Xavier O’Halloran Western Jets 7
Caleb Serong Gippsland Power 7
Xavier Duursma Gippsland Power 6
Riley Baldi Gippsland Power 6
William Hamill Dandenong Stingrays 6
Sam Flanders Gippsland Power 6
Bailey Wraith Oakleigh Chargers 35
Sam Conway Geelong Falcons 26
James Rendell Sandringham Dragons 19
Darren Walters Western Jets 18
Stephen Cumming Dandenong Stingrays 17
Floyd Bollinghaus Murray Bushrangers 16
Will Kennedy Sandringham Dragons 15
Patrick Glanford GWV Rebels 13
Jay Robertson Oakleigh Chargers 13
Rylan Henkel Gippsland Power 11
Jake Gasper Oakleigh Chargers 3 38
Hudson Garoni Murray Bushrangers 3 38
Charlie Wilson GWV Rebels 1 37
Noah Gown Gippsland Power 1 30
Jed Hill GWV Rebels _ 23
Mitchell Podhajski Calder Cannons DNP 23
Brayden Ham Geelong Falcons 2 22
Steven Kyriazis Western Jets 1 22
Bailey Frauenfelder Murray Bushrangers 1 21
Sunny Brazier Northern Knights DNP 21

Naming Rights

official licencee / supplier